Theo Charlier International Trumpet Solo Competition

The 3rd Theo Charlier International Trumpet Solo Competition was held October 28 through November 2, 2019, in Namur, Belgium. The competition has been held previously in 2005 and 2015. Renowned international trumpet artist Dominique Bodart is the founder and artistic director of the competition.

There were three rounds of the competition over the week which included 44 soloists representing 18 countries. The results of the competition are:

First Prize – Lucas Lipari-Mayer (France)
Second Prize – Adrián Martínez (Spain)
Third Prize – Marion Vezzosi (France)

The semi-finalists included: Thaïs Jude (France), Lise Bergeon (France), Tobias Kreiger (Germany), Yuxiang Xu (China), and Josep Gómez-Alemany (Spain). All competitors performed at an extremely high level over the course of the entire competition. The first round included performances of Bach/Gisondi No. 4 (Allemande) and Gliere’s Concerto. The second round required Schederin’s Im Stile Von Albéniz and Desenclos’ Incantation, Threne, et Danse. The final round featured a performance of the Neruda Trumpet Concerto and Abstrakt, a new trumpet concerto by Stan Niewenhuis.

Lucas Lipari-Mayer performs during the final round

Charlier Competition jury members

The members of the jury were Dominique Bodart (Chair, Belgium), Eric Aubier (France), Frits Damrow (Switzerland), Manuel Blanco (Spain), and Jason Bergman (USA).

(Source: Jason Bergman)

Take advantage of what ITG has to offer: