2015 Conference news: Memorial concert

IN MEMORIAM is a phrase that has been repeated so many times this year. ITG’s 40th Anniversary Conference (Columbus Ohio, May 26-30) celebrates a Living Legacy. Much of that living legacy relies on the legacies left by those who have already passed. Not only will a number of artists dedicate some of their performances to individuals during concerts and recitals, a special In Memoriam session has been scheduled for 1:30pm, Friday May 29.



Featured in the concert, representing everyone on our long list, will be music of Lew Soloff, Clark Terry and Rolf Smedvig’s Empire Brass Quintet. Artists to perform will include past and members of EBQ and others. Line-up to include: Marc Reese, Eric Berlin, Derek Lockhart, Rob Parton, Al Hood - Trumpets; Greg Miller - Horn; Greg Spiridopoulos - Trombone; Willie Clark - Tuba


 Do aim at being part of this important tribute.


The honor roll currently stands as follows, based on information that ITG News has received. (Please do inform us of any missing names from 2014 and 2015, so they can be included in our thought and tribute. )


Raymond Crisara 1920 – 2014


Reine Dahlqvist 1945-2014


Gerald Endsley 1945-2015


Rod Franks 1956-2014


John Haynie 1924-2014


Rem Mourtazovich Gekht 1932–2014


Rolf Smedvig 1953 - 2015


Lew Soloff 1944-2015


Clark Terry 1920-2015


Michael Tunnell 1954-2014


John Ware 1922-2015


Kenny Wheeler 1930-2014


Joe Wilder 1922-2014


Wilmer Wise 1936-2015


Source: Brian Evans, ITG Vice President


Take advantage of what ITG has to offer: