2022 ITG New Works Winners

The International Trumpet Guild (ITG)  is pleased to announce the composers and performers who have been selected to present works at 2022 ITG Conference in San Antonio, Texas, which will be held May 31 – June 4, 2022. This year, the ITG New Works Committee received 82 submissions from all around the world, and from this extensive list, selected 9 new works for performance at this year's conference. Our committee thanks all of the composers and performers for their submissions and for their efforts at expanding our instrument’s repertoire.

Congratulations to the following winners of the 2021-2022 Call for New Works:

 Enigma for solo cornet/flugelhorn and piano
Composer: Kevin Day
Performer: Jen Oliverio

 It Floats Away From You for soprano and trumpet
Composer: Beth Wiemann 
Performers: Byrne:Kozar:Duo (Trumpet: Andrew Kozar; Soprano: Corrine Byrne)

 Sonata for Trumpet and Piano  
Composer: Cooper Wood
Performer: Chloe Swindler

Solo Ascent for Unaccompanied Trumpet
Composer: Jenna Veverka
Performer: Julia Bell

Andante & Scherzo for Trumpet and Piano
Composer: Juan Carlos Valencia Ramos
Performer: Juan Fernando Avendaño

 Voces Lux et Tenebrae  for trumpet and fixed media
Composer: Luis Engelke
Performer: Luis Engelke

 Night Fall    for Flugelhorn and piano
Composer: Stanley Curtis     
Performer: Stanley Curtis

 ....and streetlights will fade for Trumpet and piano
Composer: Cody Ortiz
Performer: Timothy Winfield

 Et Planentarum for Unaccompanied Trumpet
Composer: Jason Dovel
Performer: Jason Dovel

 In addition, the following three works were accepted for the 2020 conference and have now been re-scheduled for the 2022 ITG Conference due to the 2020 conference's cancellation:

 *…another tango for Trumpet and Piano
Composer: Dalian Bryan
Performer: Brandon Dicks

 *Yearly Tech Review for Trumpet, Horn, and Fixed Media
Composer:  Drew Tomasik
Performers: Stephen Campbell, Gene Berger

 *Now I am Become Death  for Trumpet and Electronics
Composer: Michael Cotten
Performer: TJ Perry

 Thank you to the ITG New Works Committee for their efforts in reviewing the numerous submissions and organizing the recitals:

 Jason Dovel, University of Kentucky (Chair)
Marisa Youngs, Winthrop University (On-Site Coordinator)
Ashley Killam, Diversify the Stand (Committee Member)
Stephen Campbell, Ball State University (Committee Member)
Armida Rivera, Universidad de Ciencias y Artes de Chiapas, Mexico (Committee Member)
Stacy Simpson, Bellarmine University (Committee Member)

Take advantage of what ITG has to offer: