Florida State Brass Quintet 25th Anniversary TourNov 18 2000 
Previous StoryHeadlinesNext Story

The 2000 - 2001 academic year marks the 25th anniversary of the Florida State Brass Quintet (Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL, USA). To commemorate a quarter century of music making, the group presented a series of eight concerts on a tour which included performances at major Schools of Music in the Midwest, and culminated with their second appearance at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

The quintet's program opened with Silverings, a work by Scott McAllister recently commissioned by the FSU School of Music for the FSBQ. The premiere performance of the work was in Tallahassee on September 29. Their program included the first performances in modern time of a recently discovered brass quintet from the 19th century, written around 1850 by the French composer, Jean Bellon. This work, Quintet No. 4, is from a series of twelve quintets which will be published soon by Editions BIM, Switzerland. The program also included T.R. George's Quintet No. 1, Cheetham's A Brass Menagerie, and a dixieland medley.

In addition to the Tallahassee and New York concerts, the tour included performances at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois, Ohio State University, Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory, Bowling Green State University, and Western Michigan University.
The Florida State Brass Quintet onstage at Carnegie Hall

Source: Bryan Goff


What's New | News & Events | Resources | Join ITG
Contact ITG | About  ITG | How To Use This Site | Site Search

© Copyright 1999-2000 - International Trumpet Guild™ - all rights reserved